Create and manage User accounts
Occasionally, you may need to make some changes to the Users in your account when teammates leave the company or some new folks have joined. This article talks about managing User accounts in Help Scout.
In this article
Add new User accounts
As an administrator, you can add new Users to your account from Manage → Users.
Click on the blue New User button to get started.
Fill in basic profile information and make sure you set the appropriate role. If the Send an invite email box is checked, the User will receive a welcome email to complete the registration process. Click on the blue Next Step button.
On the next prompt, you'll be asked to choose which mailboxes you'd like for the new User to have access to. If they're an Administrator, they will have access to all mailboxes. Hit the Create User button, and you're all set.
Delete User accounts
User accounts can be deleted at any time during the billing period. When a User account is deleted:
- All previous replies and notes added to conversations remain in place.
- Reporting is not affected in any way.
- Any workflows created by that User will not be affected.
- Conversations that are assigned to the User will automatically become unassigned.
- Status values will not change for any conversations that the User has touched.
To delete a User:
- Head over to Manage → Users and click on the User you'd like to delete.
Click on the
Delete user link located at the bottom of the page.
Type DELETE in the pop-up field that appears and click the red checkmark to confirm.
If the User you're deleting has assigned conversations, we recommend running a Workflow to re-assign any conversations assigned to that User to another User on your team before removing them. There's no way to do this after the User has been removed.
Change User passwords
Administrators in Help Scout are unable to manually reset User passwords. You can send the User a password reset email from Manage → Users. Click on the desired User tile, then click the Re-send invite email link at the bottom of the page.
Can I deactivate a User if they will be out for a while?
There's not a way to deactivate a User from the Help Scout UI, but if you have team member who will be away for over a month, delete the User normally and send us an email when they need to be reactivated. We can restore deleted users on the backend.