Changing the customer on a conversation

It doesn't happen often, but you might need to change customers on a conversation, allowing you to direct your replies to someone other than the original sender. This article is all about how to change a customer on a conversation.

When to change a customer

  • Contact form submissions incorrectly set your no-reply email address as the primary customer address.
  • Forwarded conversations sent from non-Help Scout Users need to be readdressed.
  • Ownership of a large group conversation needs to be reassigned to another customer. 

Change customer vs. profile updates

If you ever come across a conversation that you think should belong to someone else, or you simply need to direct your reply to a person who isn't involved with the original conversation, make sure to always use the change customer link seen in the right-hand sidebar. Updating a customer profile with a new name and email address will re-associate all previous conversations from one customer to another, and that's no good.

Changing a customer

1

Take a look at the customer profile section in the sidebar. Click the blue change customer link seen in the bottom-right hand corner.

2

In the pop-up window that appears, you can pick from a list of suggested customer profiles, search for an existing customer, or create a new customer profile. Select a customer profile and confirm the change. 

3

After changing the customer, the sidebar will update with the new customer profile. Replies made in the conversation will be directed to the new customer, unless otherwise specified via the To: dropdown menu, which is visible when the reply editor is open. 

Still stuck? How can we help? How can we help?