Working with Teams

Help Scout Users can be grouped together in Teams. Teams have a special folder in the sidebar which is only visible to members of that team. You can assign conversations to a team, build workflows around teams, and report on team performance.  The Teams feature is only available on the Plus plan. 

In this article

How teams work

Grouping Users into teams allows you to assign conversations to a group of people, rather than just an individual User. 

Assigning conversations to a team

Assigning an Active or Pending conversation to a team will move it into that team's folder and out of the Unassigned folder. You can assign conversations to teams from the usual places: 

  • From the reply and note editor assignee dropdown 
  • From the folder view when bulk selecting conversations

Working with team conversations

Users who belong to a team will see a dedicated team folder in the sidebar. Conversations assigned to a team will still show in the Assigned folder, as well as the team-specific folder. Note that User and Team activity notifications are set separately.

Team email notifications

Based on your notification settings, Help Scout sends you a message when certain conversation events take place. Without logging in, you can reply to a conversation, add a note, or change the status, just to name a few of the available  email commands

Team notifications are great for staying in the loop when team-specific conversations are updated. Head over to your profile page to edit your team notification settings. 

Creating a team

Creating a team is a bit like creating a User account. You'll select who should have access to a team, and which mailboxes a team should have access to. Only Administrators can create and manage teams. 

1
Head over to the team management page from the Manage →  Teams.
2
Click on the New Team button.
3
Give your team a name, then select which mailboxes this team should have access to. Click the blue  Create Team button when you're finished.
4
To start adding new team members, click the Add Team Members button.

5
Select new team members by clicking on the User tile, or search for the team members you'd like to add. Once you've selected Users to add, click the Add Team Members button. Users can belong to multiple teams. 

 

Editing a team

Changing name, image and permissions

From the Team settings page, you can change the name and image, update mailbox permissions, or delete the team.

Removing Users

To remove members from the team, hover over their User tile, then click the tile remove them from the team. You can add or remove Users from a team at any time.

Reporting on team performance 

Ever wonder how productive your Sales or Success team is, independent of other teams? With Team reports, every metric that’s available for Users is now available for your teams. Head over to Reports → Company, then select a team to report on.  

You can drill down on specific conversations, keep tabs on response times and replies, and take a look at happiness ratings per team. Create a view to get a more granular view of your team’s performance.  Views allow you to drill down on your data by mailboxes, conversation types, tags, and custom fields .

Still stuck? How can we help? How can we help?