End a Live Chat

What happens when a chat ends?

When a live chat ends, two key things happen: 
  1. Help Scout creates a conversation in the mailbox, which includes the full chat transcript, and summary note. You can follow-up with the customer by email if needed. 
  2. If the Email Transcript option is enabled in Beacon, we’ll send the chat transcript, excluding private notes and status items, to the customer.
If an Unassigned chat is missed, we do not email a transcript to the customer. We’ll create a conversation in Help Scout so your team can follow-up via email, as you would with any other conversation in the queue. 

End a Live Chat

When you select the End Chat option, either by clicking the End Chat button or by selecting End Chat from the Options Menu, you’ll see a modal window asking you to confirm the action.

You can leave an optional summary message, which is added as a note to the conversation that’s created after the chat has ended. 
  • You can assign the conversation to someone on your team, or leave it as Unassigned. 
  • The default Status is set to Closed, but you can change it to Active or Pending. 

FYI: Fine Print

  • If a chat is assigned to a User, only the assigned User can end the chat.
  • If a chat is Unassigned and waiting, any User can end the chat.
  • Customers can end the chat at any time. If a customer ends the chat, you’ll still see the End Chat button. You can click it to add a summary note and close it out. 

Still stuck? How can we help? How can we help?