User Availability and Maximum Chats

About User Availability

To help reduce missed chats, customers can talk with your team only when a User is available to chat. When chat is enabled in a Beacon, you can set your chat availability from the Account dropdown menu in the top right corner of Help Scout. Here’s the scoop on each status: 

  1. Available - You’re ready to accept incoming chats. You’ll appear as available to chat with customers in Beacon. 
  2. Assign Only - You’re not ready to accept new chats, but your teammates can assign ongoing chats to you. 
  3. Unavailable - You don’t appear in Beacon, and you cannot take on new or assigned chats. If a User is inactive or exits Help Scout, their status will automatically change to Unavailable.

About Maximum Chats

The Maximum Chat setting defines how many chats you can handle at once. When you reach or exceed this number of chats, Help Scout will automatically change your status to Assign Only
  • The Maximum Chat value represents total chats across all mailboxes. 
  • The default value is set at 3. We think 3-6 is a good number to help prevent customers from waiting, but pick a number that works for you and your team.
  • 0 isn’t a supported value. If you want to turn off chat, set yourself to Unavailable.
Head over to your Profile page to update your Maximum Chat setting.

Still stuck? How can we help? How can we help?