Edit threads and notes
Most threads in Help Scout have three little vertical dots to the right of the timestamp (see below). This dropdown contains a few nifty actions you can perform. Here's what you can do:
- Edit a thread
- Edit a note
- Delete a note
- Hide a thread (no longer visible to the customer)
- Create a new conversation with a single thread
- View the original message source
If you don't want Users to be able to edit/delete threads or notes, there's a checkbox on the Company Settings page that you can toggle to disable those options. Let's talk about why you would use some of this stuff:
Editing a thread is useful when you need to modify specific thread content. Let's say a customer included credit card information in a previous thread. If you don't want those details going out to other CC'd parties in a future response, a quick thread edit will take care of it. The edited thread is customer facing, not just internal.
Note: We keep track of two important things: the original text and who made the last edit.
Hiding a thread removes that particular thread from outgoing conversations. When you reply again, the customer will not see the hidden thread in the email they receive from Help Scout. Hiding a thread only affects what the customer sees - it will still be visible in your account on both the conversation and Reports.
Creating a new conversation from existing threads is a great way to make sense out of lengthy requests. For example, if a customer emails multiple questions (in one conversation), you might want to turn those comments in to new conversations for reporting or escalation purposes.
Deleting a note needs no explanation, but it is worth mentioning that we don't keep the original text on notes, only who last edited the note and when. If you delete a note, nothing further is shown in the conversation about the note.
Viewing the original source lets you inspect the original email headers, look for inline replies that weren't pulled into the thread, or investigate a problem. Original headers are available for up to 60 days for every incoming message.