Assigning lets you give Users ownership of conversations within Help Scout, and easy access to see all that others are working on at any given moment. This article is all about assigning conversations in Help Scout.
In this article
How to assign conversations
There are a variety of ways that you can assign a conversation. Let's check out the different ways:
Within a conversation
Click on the Assign icon at the top of the conversation, and a dropdown menu will appear of all of your Users in Help Scout. Select any User and it will automatically assign the conversation to them.
Within a folder
Select any conversation in a folder, and a floating menu will appear. Click on the Assign icon, and select any User from the dropdown menu that you'd like to assign it to.
When replying or adding a note
You can choose a User to assign a conversation to right before you send a reply or add a note to the conversation. This will assign the conversation to that User upon sending the reply or adding the note.
Manual or automatic workflows
A manual workflow lets you group certain actions together and run them altogether whenever you'd like. Select the Assign to User action, add the User, and then whenever you run that workflow, it will assign the conversation accordingly.
An automatic workflow can be set up with an Assign to User action based on certain conditions. Select the Assign to User action in the Actionssection, and it will run whenever a conversation meets those conditions.
For a primer on workflows, check out this article.
Viewing assigned conversations
Anyone with access to a mailbox, regardless of their role, can view assigned conversations and also change the assignee on a conversation.
Let's take a look at what happens when conversations are assigned to certain Users:
- When you assign a conversation to Anyone , it will appear in the Unassigned folder
- When you assign a conversation to Me, it will appear in the Mine folder
- When you assign a conversation to any other User, it will appear in the Assigned folder
- If someone else assigns a conversation directly to you, it will appear in the Mine folder
- If you are on the Plus plan, you can also assign to Teams. Conversations assigned to teams will appear in the corresponding team folder.
You can also view an audit trail entry of who assigned a conversation to whom, and when it happened. It will appear as a grey line item, like this:
Searching and filtering by assignee
Running a search by assignee will show all of their conversations across different mailboxes and the entire account. Type assigned: into the search bar, and a menu will appear with all of your Users names. You can search multiple Users as well to see conversations assigned to one or the other.
Assignee filtering will come in handy when you need to view only those conversations assigned to a specific User in a folder. Simply click on the Assigned To column, select the User from the dropdown menu, and the folder will automatically filter conversations by that User.
Can I restrict a User to only view their assigned conversations?
No, Users can view all conversations, including those assigned to others.
Is it possible to prevent conversations from being assigned to certain Users?
Afraid not. All Users can have conversations assigned to them.